Monday, July 27, 2009

July 27, 2009

July Twenty Seventh, two thousand & nine, my first day of extern. I was lucky to even get an extern spot and Jason got me a spot that is within 10 minutes of my house. I got there this morning at 830am, i met with kristi and signed a couple of papers then she showed me around the office and introduced me to mostly everyone. I was put with Kari today for her to show me around the office, the way she does things. We probably had 15 patients today. [I wasnt exactly counting, lol] There were all kinds of patients. People with sore throat, People just wanting a physical, medicine change, pap smears, etc. We were go go go all day long. There wasnt much time to do anything else really. I got a 30 minute lunch. I went to Blakes mom and dad's office, which is right next door. [DONT GET ME STARTED ON THAT.] I went back from lunch and just saw some more patients, cleaned up rooms, paper work, etc. So thats my day, I didnt really do anything other than that. It will get more detailed when I start actually doing things. So that was my day!

Saturday, July 25, 2009

July 25, 2009

7 days till my birthday!!
28 days till Kansas!!

Im counting down the days! I will be 19 in one week from today! Yea Yea, i know, 19, i cant really do anything different, but it is one year closer to being 21 (: Cool, huh? lol. and im going to Kansas in 28 days! Im leaving Sat, Aug 22. Im going for a week. Im soo excited to get out of Sarasota and just have a break!

Alrighty, here is the scoop on my extern! [first, i must say, i got an A in my speech class!] ok now, I GOT AN EXTERN SITE!! Thank GOD for Jason! I cant even thank him enough for all the hard work he does for me! [and everyone] I am going to a place called First Physicians Group. It is 5 miles from my house, and right next to blakes mom & dad's office! About 5 min from his house. Very convenient for me! I didnt get a chance to interview since it was so last notice, which is okay. I called Kristi, the head nurse and talked with her on Thurs afternoon. She sounded very nice! She told me that I was able to wear whatever scrubs I wanted!! I was soo excited. lol The pictures on here are pictures of my scrubs I got! Not the best pictures. I got these at walmart. I went right after i found out I could wear whatever I wanted.haha. Thats the most exciting part! Ive been stuck wearing Keiser Scrubs for 6 months! Its nice for a change! She also told me there will be catered lunch Tues, Wed, Thurs. How nice! lol. i dont have to spend money or leave the office! (: I was also informed on Friday by Jason that I'm the first student going to this site!! He said I better make a good impression or im in big trouble! And blake said, i better get this job! I need it! I cant have him keep supporting both of us! Its not gonna work much longer, hes barely getting hours!! I might have a better chance of getting hired because Jason said I might be switching offices off and on, there is a location 1 mile from my house, soo close! So the more DR's i work with the better chance I have of getting hired by atleast one of them! I couldnt be more excited!

I cancelled my birthday party i was going to have. I figured, i dont like entertaining people, especially when im put into a situation where some people know eachother and some dont, it never works out..and the beach is so freakin' hot! There wasnt going to be enough people going for the $ put into it, so i cancelled it and im going to spend aug 2 with eric, which was the original plan anyways. I cant think of anything to do. He said he was going to take me out to dinner but its sooo expensive! We were planning on going to Cosimo's Too. SOO GOOD but SOO EXPENSIVE! We'll see! And i cant figure out what to do during the day! Maybe go up to Adventure Island! That would be alot of fun! :)

A positive note in my life: I have gotten people out of my life that I didnt want in it. People that were bringing me down, and just being really nasty to me. Someone who is going to be my friend "off & on" is not a friend, someone who is going to be there all the time for you, is a friend! I have erased all contact from them, and i couldnt be any happier!

Blake and I have been discussing wedding dates. We still dont know. We have some plans but we have to wait alittle to see what happens with everything before we set anything, so we'll see!! I'm excited! I cant wait to spend the rest of my life with him!!<3

Well thats it for now! I'm going to go play a game with my momma (:

Saturday, July 18, 2009

In Love..<3

Let's just start out by saying, I havent been this happy with Blake in a long time :D Getting back together with him was the best decision ive ever made. We were at breakfast this morning talking about when we wanted to get married..were still talking about October 20, 2010. Next year! So we'll see what happens with that.

I started writing my speech today. Its due on Tues so I figured I should start. lol. I am doing it on Why you should donate blood. Ill post it on here when im done with it! prob Mon night.

I babysat for a new family yesterday for the first time. The kids were great and the parents are awesome! I finally made some money! I havent had $42 in a long time! lol. We had mac&cheese and brocolli, then we had a cookie and ice cream for dessert. They watched a movie and I was on my laptop working on my speech. Then I gave Claire a bath, and read them 3 stories and put them to bed.

Ive been in so much pain yesterday and today. Why do women have cramps!? I dont understand why god put up on this earth to be in pain every month..anyone have an answer for that!?

Im gonna go! Im watching "He's just not that into you" Its good so far!!
Adios! :) <3

Thursday, July 16, 2009

Stressful-ness?

The past couple days havent been the greatest of days, but not the worst ever. Yesterday [7/15] I went on an interview for my extern site for school. I was aggervated before I even got there because she told me on the phone when I called to confirm the appointment that there wasnt much for me to do. Jason [MA program director] said go anyways..so I went..I loved the place! Its 3.4 miles from my house! Whereas the other place I was at was 25 mi away! There are TWO Keiser Graduates there, both MA's. One of them was in my class. Very nice girl. Well I was there and in the 10 minutes I was there, she said 4 times that the DR was unsure if he wanted someone else in the office. So Im very doubtful that its going to work out. I was getting aggervated because I feel like everyone else is getting such an awesome site, and getting to take patients back right away and learning alot of things and Im not getting that chance..I am pretty sure, unless something miraculous happens, changing my major. Still not going to announce it yet but it will be coming soon! :D I promise! I talked with Jason this morning, he called me this morning and woke me up..lol and he asked me how the interview went and i told him, and he told me he was going to go in there today and try to talk with them. Ill wait for an update with him, probably tomorrow!

Today I had school. There was no AC in the Everglades building, which is where my classroom is. We switched over to the keiser building but then the classroom we were in, the students were back and they needed it..so we went back over to the NO AC building and just sweated. nothing else we coulda done! My next big speech is due Tues! I havent even started writing it yet. Its a persuasive speech and its going to be on "Why people should give blood" Its amazing the numbers on this subject. Ill def post the speech like I did with the other one when im done!

One thing I kinda want to bring up, im NOT going to say any names, but why do people not care what they look like when they go out in public!? People who wear clothes that are to tight for them..do they not look in a mirror before they walk out of the house? H-O-N-E-S-T-L-Y...!! I'm really not trying to be mean but it drives me nuts! I see pictures of certain ppl who have clothes that are 2x smaller than them and they think thats ok? If I have a shirt that is even ALITTLE to tight, i WILL NOT wear it! I dont care if that means one size bigger, people need to care what they are wearing and what they look like!

On a happier note; I got my plane ticket to go to Kansas today! I will be leaving on August 22 and will be coming back Aug 29! ONE WEEK! Im trying to figure out how blake can come with me, but he starts school so I dont think its going to happen =/. And I landed a babysitting job today! So hopefully that will be bringing in some money for me!

Ok well im gonna go. Take a look at this sunset picture I took the other day, I was driving over the North bridge on Siesta Key. ITS BEAUTIFUL!!!

Tuesday, July 14, 2009

July 14, 2009

Hello!

Im still not very good at this whole typing blog thing. I'll get better at it as I keep doing it, hopefully?

I just finished planning my Birthday Party! I cant even tell you the last time I had a party! I figured since I am not going to be seeing all my friends anymore from school because I'm going to extern Ill have a party to get everyone together. I am going to have it at Siesta Key Beach during the day and were going to have pizza, chips, soda, and im going to make myself a cake so my parents dont have to buy it.lol. My bday is in 18 days! Whoo hoo! Im going to a Tampa Bay Rays baseball game for my bday, and then having my party on Sun aug 2. Then HOPEFULLY I can convince my dad to let me go to Kansas for a week Aug 22-30. I need a break SO bad! Its the only break im going to get with school and I want to get away, and see my family!!

So I had an interview today at a college called East West College of Natural Medicine, and the guy called me and cancelled the interview..WTF? I guess it wasnt meant to be, Im a firm believer of "everything happens for a reason" So we'll see whats in store for me next:)

Oh! And..the other day..Blake bought me some new shoes!! Arent they adorable!? I havent figured out quite yet how im going to walk in them but that will come soon :)

Blake and I are pretty much engaged again, I honestly dont see the point in not being engaged..we ARE going to get married..I dont want to see with anyone else but him..So i guess im going to put my ring back on..wana see a pic?? Here is it! Its VERY pretty. I told blake its probably bad luck but we have no $$ to buy another ring so w/e! lol


One more thing, I was driving yesterday and I saw a quote on a church sign and it said "To be with christ, is better by far" I liked it! And I saw a license plate today that I thought was awesome, Its funny how people can come up with this stuff Is it even legal to take pictures of peoples license plate? haha. OOPS! oh well! [The license plate said "HE 46AVE"..like HE FORGAVE..haha? lol

Adios for now!

Sunday, July 12, 2009

July 12, 2009

Hola!

My birthday is in 20 days! Im going to be 19 yrs old :D
Ive decided if I can get enough ppl im going to have a party, im going to have one. Its going to be at the beach! whooot! :D and yes its in the middle of the summer and if it rains then all the more fun! Were gonna have burgers and stuff!

im gonna go for now, bc i dont feel like typing anymore. lol.

ttyl! <3

Thursday, July 9, 2009

In Class: July 9, 2009

Just an update: Im in class and I just took my mid-term exam. And I found out that I got a 100% on my speech! She said I had the best eye contact in the class and i looked confident, which wtf is she talking about..lol. apparently i played it off good because i was so nervous! :D So im happy! KK well i gtg now. Break it over ;)

sam

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Today is Wednesday! My day off of school, July 8, and just another HOT day in Sunny ol' Florida!

I didn't do much of anything today. I slept in [finally!] Got to sleep till about 1030am. I've been staying at Blakes house alot. Im not to sure why. I should probably go home sometime and stay, I havent been over there for more than a couple hrs in probably 2 weeks. Now that we're back together I like to see him, especially when he's not working.

I've been thinking alot lately about what I want to do as a career. I have changed my mind on what I am going to do. BUT I'm not going to say anything to anybody quite yet. I AM 100% for sure going to finish out the Medical Assisting program I am in and get certified so I have that to fall back on. This program I am going to go in will allow me to get my Bachelors Degree in Science. I will not have it up on what it is for probably another month. I want to do my extern and when I do it, I might decide being in the medical field is what I really want..and then again I might absolutely hate it, so until I know 100% I am not going to say anything.

I've not been in such a peachy mood today. Everything is just bothering me. Ive been quite bitchy lately. PMS? Probably! It sucks..because I dont mean to be bitchy but I just am.. and its so fuc*in hot outside that I cant step outside without damn sweat dripping down my face! :0

O-M-G! BRUNO is coming out on Friday!!! I want to see it so bad! After seeing the absolutely hilarious movie, The Hangover I want to see it!! And I Love You, Beth Cooper looks really good too!

In conclusion, just to let everyone know, Blake is starting a window tinting business. He is doing it where he will come to you and tint your windows. I cant tell you an exact price because its all going to depend on what kind of car you have but I can gaurantee it will cost much less than if you go get it "professionally" done. So if you are interested,email him at mobilewindowtinting941@yahoo.com He will do the tint whatever darkness you want it. All he has to do it come look at your car and then go by the tint and he'll be on his way, and when hes finished you'll have a beautifully tinted car :D...If you want to see some car's hes done, check my facebook soon! I will have pictures up!

Ill be back tomorrow :D
Adios Amigos <3>

Monday, July 6, 2009

My Speech For July 7, 2009~ Animal Abuse

here is my speech i will be presenting tomorrow! ~ I hope you like it!

Did you know that dogs, cats, and other animals suffer from abuse every day? According to HSUS.ORG, 1,880 animal abuse cases were reported in 2007. Today I am going to talk to you about Animal Cruelty and Abuse.

1. First, I’m going to talk about, the most common victims in animal abuse are dogs. Pit bulls in particular are most likely to be mistreated. Why are dogs the most common animals of abuse? No one really knows why dogs are chosen to be the most abused. My personal opinion is that, dogs are the most common type of house pet, so they are most likely to be affected.

64.5% (1,212) of the 1,880 animals abused in 2007 involved dogs. An example of dog cruelty or neglect, is leaving a dog outside in the rain, hot weather or sun 24/7, with no water, no food, or no one to be around. This happened to my dog. He was left out in the backyard, tied up in the middle of the hot summer days while his “family” left for vacation, and never came back! One very common type of dog abuse is, unintentionally OR intentionally leaving your dog in a hot car. If it’s not okay to leave your kids in the car, it is not okay to leave your dog in the car either. According to readingeagle.com, a hot car can turn deadly to a dog in just five minutes, even if the weather is not very hot. In JUST ONE fatal incident of a dog being left in a car, it was only 70 degrees. A lady stopped at home, parked in the shade, and came out after what she said was 15 minutes. By the time officers got there, the shade had moved, turning the car into what officers called, “A solar powered Easy Bake Oven.” A dog’s normal body temperature is 101 degree. Once it reaches 106 degrees the result is everything from nerve damage, heart problems, liver damage, systemic organ failure, and all this can happen in just a matter of minutes.

18% (337) of the 1,880 animals abused in 2007 involved cats. A lady just recently lost her home and went to jail for cruelty of her cats. She let them live in their fecal matter, did not clean up after them, and her house was non livable b/c of this situation. She got out of jail but still has 115 counts of animal cruelty on her record.

25% (470) of the 1,880 animal abused in 2007 involved other animals. An example of “animal cruelty” that has been said is, leaving a betta fish in a tank smaller than 3 gallons, without a filter and a heater. Now, I think that is ridiculous. I don’t think that is considered animal cruelty but I personally would never leave my betta fish, or any other fish in a bowl. I have a betta fish, in a 3 gallon tank with a filter, but not a heater..is that considered animal abuse? I don’t think something as simple as that would be in that category. Different people have different opinions. I think if you are feeding your fish the recommended daily amount of food, and keeping it in water at all times, you are not abusing it.

2. What exactly is Animal Cruelty? Animal cruelty is acts of violence or neglect perpetrated against animals. Animal NEGLECT is failure to provide them with the basic of requirements such as food, water, shelter, shade, and veterinary care. This may be due to ignorance on the owners part and it usually handled by requiring the owner to correct the situation. If the problem is not corrected, the animal will be removed from the neglectful person by law enforcement authorities. Animals involved in Abuse or Cruelty cannot defend themselves, to a certain extent. People don’t understand that dogs are just as good as humans. I know they can’t talk to tell us what they want, when they want it, or how they are feeling, but anyone who doesn’t treat an animal like a human, in my eyes is some type of abuse. They were brought onto the earth to be friends to people, and part of families, not to be abused, neglected, starved, and treated like dirt.

3. Some people might not agree, or they might have different opinions but an animal being homeless is a type of abuse, neglect, or cruelty. One example is, if someone is mad at their animal and let it outside and just let it go, that is abuse. They will not have food, water, shelter, shade, etc, The basic necessities of living. If you see an animal on the side of the road, get it, take it home and bring it into your family, or bring it to a shelter! If you don’t step up and do that, how do you know the next person will? And if that person doesn’t, how do you know the next person will? It will keep going on like a chain reaction and that animal, no matter what it is will die. So save an animals life, if you see a stray and you dont pick it up, you are abusing an animal.

4. If you or someone you know are a witness, or has seen animal cruelty, there are numerous places you can call. You can call your local humane society, an animal shelter, animal control agency, or even your law enforcement, but please do call immediately!
In conclusion, If you think of it this way, in a matter of the time of me giving you this speech, A dog could’ve been dead from sitting in a car to hot. Fast huh? Please do your part and help an animal in need!

Friday, July 3, 2009

July 3, 2009- Venting

Things I Dont Understand:

1. I dont understand why all of my friends wont talk to me, and just think im pretty much a nobody.. I really hope I dont but I have a feeling that Im going to lose friends when they go off to college =./ thats not okay with me. All of the time ive put into being a great friend and it all goes down the drain..idk what im going to do..and ppl think just because they have "things going on" in their life, they dont talk to me..I dont understand. When i have things going on in my life, i dont ignore my friends, i talk to them, i try to vent to them to see if they can help me with anything. My friends are everything to me, and I dont want to lose them!

2. I dont understand why all my parents can think of is that i have an "attitude" Im 18yrs old, im not going to be a perfect little angel.. NO ONE IS! But I am growing up and I am going to stand up for what i believe and what I want..will they understand that..i dunno..they probably wont like it but oh well...

Theres my venting for the night.. any suggestions!? help!

Thursday, July 2, 2009

July 2, 2009

Geez, to start out, I just wrote June as the date! I cant believe its already July!

Today was my 2nd day of class. [speech] I was supposed to be on extern this month..let's just say that didnt work out to well. I got there the first day and I was put into surgery right away, and it was go go go all day, didnt get a break. I thought I was going to get one so I didnt eat breakfast. There was no where to sit down AT ALL so I went to the bathroom to sit for a minute on the toilet..it was ridiculous. So I told them on Tues that I wouldnt be coming back, that was the hardest thing for me to do. So now I am in speech for the month! I have a speech due on Tuesday and I am going to do it on the safety of wearing a seatbelt [i felt it was appropriate b/c the new law just went into effect!] and my next persuasive speech will be on Why fast food is bad to eat! So im excited, but def. nervous!

Things going on with my dad and him quitting his job are coming very fast! We are not going to have a paycheck, alot of groceries, or anything..its going to be a huge shock =/ I dont know really what Im going to do! Blake and I ARE back together, and we want to move out but I dont think its going to happen anytime soon! I dont have a job right now because Im going to school and Blake is working 2 jobs and school.ahh. LOTS going on. busy busy.

Well im going to go for now! ill be back soon! Keep following me! :)
ps. sorry if this was boring, im not used to writing right now! ill get better, i promise! especially when my life gets more interesting!